Usability testing

If Friedrich Schiller worked for reality bytes as a User Experience Designer today, he would probably write: ‘So test therefore, who join the user, if content can be found quickly!’ Usability tests are indispensable in Internet projects that are becoming ever more complex. Only these offer security as to whether users can find their way around a website and use it in the intended way. Tests of usability are carried out during the development phase. They are then incorporated into the development of the website. The focus is on optimisation of user guidance. Existing websites can also be tested, and these tests are then used as the starting point for optimisations or relaunches.

Rapid prototyping tests

When developing new Internet projects or relaunches, the so-called rapid prototyping test has proven its worth. Here, partially-functional prototypes are tested. As part of scenario-supported tests, testers check specific click pathways for their functionality, design or word choice, and give their opinions. These statements are integrated into further development and the same pathways then tested again. In other words, this is an iterative process. The benefits are clear: even in the early development stages, users are involved, and barriers and inconsistencies removed. Designs and functions can be fine-tuned. And the tests do not require a fully-programmed website.

The view of the individual

Such tests are necessary, as seemingly everyday functions and website designs are not correctly understood by users. The term ‘dumbest assumable user’ has even made it into the online lexicon Wikipedia. But users are not stupid; they have a learned view of websites and online shops that is personal to them. It is therefore necessary that people with various online backgrounds test websites, preferably as part of individual exploration. Often even just four testers per iteration are enough to build up a good view of functionality and design. Each test comprises robust individual interviews and preparation of statements for discussion by the experts. Then, we optimise and submit the optimised versions for testing again. The numerous tests that we have carried out mean that we can say with authority that three test phases are normally enough to develop a highly functional, graphically appealing website that is understood by your visitors and will, in the best cases, be loved and appreciated.

Our services in a nutshell

  • Advice and analysis
  • Test conception
  • Test implementation
  • Individual explorations
  • Implementation and optimisation
  • Reporting
  • Concept and design adaptation

Our usability testing references

Unimall, Econa, Bosch, Grundeigentümer-Versicherung

Would you like to know more about usability testing?
Make an appointment to speak to us!
We look forward to hearing from you.

Usability-Testing

Würde Friedrich Schiller heutzutage für TWT reality bytes als User Experience Designer arbeiten, würde er vermutlich dichten: „Drum prüfe, wer den Nutzer bindet, ob dieser schnell den Inhalt findet!“ Usability-Tests sind bei immer komplexeren Internetprojekten unabdingbar. Nur sie bieten Sicherheit, dass der User sich auf der Website zurechtfindet und den beabsichtigten Weg beschreitet. Die Tests auf Gebrauchstauglichkeit werden während der Entwicklungsphase durchgeführt. Sie fließen dann in die Entwicklung der Website mit ein. Im Vordergrund steht hierbei die Optimierung der User-Führung. Aber auch bestehende Websites lassen sich testen. Diese Tests sind dann Ausgangspunkt für Optimierungen oder Relaunches.

Rapid-Prototyping-Tests

Bei der Entwicklung neuer Internetprojekte oder eines Relaunchs hat sich der sogenannte Rapid-Prototyping-Test bewährt. Hier werden Teil-funktionale Prototypen getestet. Testpersonen prüfen in szenariogestützten Tests bestimmte Klick-Strecken auf Funktionalität, Design oder Wortwahl und geben ihre Meinung dazu ab. Die Aussagen fließen in die weitere Entwicklung ein und werden aufs Neue geprüft. Wir sprechen hier von einer iterativen Vorgehensweise. Der Vorteil ist klar: Schon in einer frühen Entwicklungsphase werden die Nutzer einbezogen und Barrieren und Unstimmigkeiten abgebaut. Designs und Funktionen werden so fein justiert. Zudem müssen für die Tests keine komplette Website erst fertig programmiert werden.

Usability-Testing

Die Sicht des Einzelnen

Solche Tests sind notwendig, da scheinbar alltägliche Funktionen und Website-Designs von den Nutzern nicht richtig verstanden werden. Der Begriff „Dümmster anzunehmender User“ hat es sogar schon bis ins Online-Lexikon Wikipedia gebracht. Doch Benutzer sind nicht dumm, sie haben eine persönlich gelernte Sicht auf Websites und Online-Shops. Daher ist es notwendig, Websites von Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Online-Hintergrund zu testen. Am besten in Einzelexplorationen. Häufig reichen schon vier Testpersonen pro Iteration aus, um ein gutes Bild über Funktionalität und Design zu bekommen. Jeder Test besteht aus qualifizierten Einzelinterviews und Aufbereitung der Aussagen in einer Expertenrunde. Dann optimieren wir und stellen die optimierten Versionen erneut zur Prüfung. Dank zahlreicher von uns durchgeführter Tests können wir sagen, in der Regel reichen drei Testphasen aus, um eine hochfunktionale, grafisch äußerst ansprechende Website zu entwickeln, die von Ihren Besuchern verstanden und im besten Fall geliebt wird.

Unsere Leistungen in Kürze

  • Beratung und Analyse
  • Testkonzeption
  • Testdurchführung
  • Einzelexplorationen
  • Implementierung und Optimierung
  • Reporting
  • Konzept- und Design-Anpassung

Unsere Usability-Testing-Referenzen

Unimall, Econa, Bosch, Grundeigentümer Versicherung

Möchten Sie mehr über Usability-Testing erfahren?
Das freut uns. Schreiben Sie uns, und wir melden uns umgehend bei Ihnen.